Marathon Training Begins!

Or it should have.

Monday marked Day One of marathon training. Nothing special, three miles on the schedule so of course I did five miles instead. Tuesday, about the same.

Yesterday: supposed to be a rest day. But since it’s not a difficult week, I thought I could keep up with my regular “off season” running schedule of Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Friday, Saturday.

Oh how the mighty do fall.

I made it approximately 1.5 miles into my run when my left knee (the GOOD one!) just…stopped functioning. Every foot strike was pain and locking. It felt like the tendons weren’t moving the way they should. I tried powering through it, thinking it was due to the cold or just a little glitch. No good. Luckily, walking had almost no pain so I decided to stop risking serious injury and made my way home.

So today, I rest. Tomorrow I swim. And Saturday–scheduled for an 8 miler–we shall see how things go.

Leave a comment

0 Comments

  1. Good luck with pain….that should be week 16 stuff, not week one! Sending healing vibes your way and smart move taking in some water cross-training.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

