The In-Betweens

(According to Successful Blog People, one should have a writing schedule for blogs. Pshaw, I say! I live spontaneously and in the MOMENT!) (Lies, I’m so type-A, but have not made some schedule for this blog out of confusion as to what this blog should be about.) (Back to your regularly scheduled–butnotreally–programming).

I am in the dreaded in-betweens for running and training. It’s been almost THREE months since my last real race! And my training for the Baltimore half doesn’t kick off for another few weeks.

Overall, I’m feeling about as tired as usual! I decided, since I wasn’t planning on running SUPER long runs as usual, I would just add another day of regular runs (4-5 miles). My schedule looks a little like this:

Monday: 6 miles

Tuesday: 4-5 miles

Wednesday: 6 miles

Thursday: 4 miles

Friday: Rest

Saturday: 7 miles or so

Sunday: “Crosstraining”–usually swimming for about 25-30 mins.

I tried that running streak thing that Runner’s World was promoting on twitter and just.couldn’t.do.it. Everything hurt and I was getting cranky from it.

After taking stock of running five days a week, I think it’s definitely possible but I might cut back to four days again when I start hitting the longer parts of half training. We shall see. The number ONE PRIORITY: not getting injured. I have a marathon to run next spring!

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Well hello! I had no idea YOU had a blog. Amazing how this whole internet thing works. Also amazing is that you are such a runner now… I think it’s kick ass, especially because when I go for “runs” they last 15 minutes and involve an awful lot of walking.

    Reply
    • themalstrom

       /  July 16, 2012

      Haha, I am not a very good or regular blogger I’m afraid. But since I have the tendency to go on and on about running to people who do not really care, I figured I’d write about it and get the words out of my system that way.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

