Budget Runner

Last year, before I started my grown-up job, I decided to start a tumblr called Budget Runner. It was supposed to be a place for me to keep track of my spending and hold myself accountable week to week by looking very closely at what I was spending my money on and whether all that spending was necessary. Also, running. OBVIOUSLY. I started the tumblr because I was sick of being poor, essentially. And I knew that sooner rather than later, you have to grow up. Emergencies happen. Big purchases are sometimes necessary.

I deleted that tumblr when I got my grown up job. Partly because I was making more money and so the saving was easier. Partly because that tumblr did what it was supposed to and it helped me keep a very close eye on my bank account. I stopped shopping every weekend. I didn’t go out as often. I thought that those good habits were there to stay.

I should have known better.

Just like running and exercise, good habits are a constant work in progress. You can’t just expect them to keep up on their own.

It started with paying for a three night stay in Ocean City with my tax refund. Because why not? I deserve a nice weekend away…right? And tax refund is like FREE MONEY. Oh, silly Mallory….

The past few weeks have been  really tough for me. A personal emergency turned into two weeks of supporting friends by going out to dinner or drinks and driving all over the place. Of course, I would do it all again in a heartbeat–that’s why I saved the money and we all needed to have it happen. But that doesn’t mean that I can keep it up.

That event is compounded by the quote I received from my mechanic for necessary maintenance on my car: over $1000. I chose my top three that I could afford (tires, oil change, air filter). But I know the rest needs to be taken care of sooner, rather than later.

I’m announcing the return of Budget Runner. Not as a tumblr. Or even a new name for my blog. But…an extra feature in an already ADD blog.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

