Back from the dead (race dead, I mean)

Oh em gee kids. Rock n Roll HURTLIKEABITCH.

THE GOOD:

PR! 1:52:22 to be exact. That’s almost exactly three minutes down from my Baltimore time!

COURSE! Super scenic and takes you through all the “DC” areas. Even for a jaded, DC-suburbanite like me it was pretty awesome to run the streets of this city.

SPECTATORS! My personal cheering squad was not in attendance (losers. I kid)

MEDAL!  Of couse, I don’t have a pic…but it’s pretty cool. And there’s glitter!

THIS PICTURE:

Dying Man--well, not REALLY

Obviously, because it really highlights the race for me–checking my Garmin obsessively (nooooooothing to do with the guy looking like he wants to die).

THE NOT AS GOOD

INSOMNIA. Yeah. That sucked. Thinking it was a combo of nerves/sleeping in not my own bed/not having run in two days.

COURSE. Oh hills. That climb from downtown to Columbia Heights hurt.

MILE 11.5 From that point on, I was toast. I thought I was going to fall over or have to walk. Yeah, WALK. That bad.

But I didn’t fall over. I didn’t walk. I crossed the finish line (and made rockstar hands for the cameras which, naturally, they didn’t get. But I got cheers so that was awesome). There was no kick to the finish. I was done. So done.

I think I learned some things. I don’t need to taper that much. I need to sleep in my own bed. And my body can take it. Lessons. That’s life, right there.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

