Fall Textures!

Fall is slowly creeping up on us and so we all have to think about fall colors and textures. Here’s what I’m loving going into fall:

Plaid:

plaid

I used to dismiss plaid as part of the grunge era and something that should never be revitalized. But I have to admit, that I’m loving the modern twists on this texture: blouses open over a tee and tucked into jeans may be my favorite. I have yet to find something that fits me but I’m keeping a look out!

This fall, designers are muting down their palettes: there was a lot of black, brown, and tan on the runways so plaid’s are also going to be darker.

Tweed:

tweed

Tweed is the perfect texture for this fall and winter because it is classic, usually dark, and warm: all part of what designers are looking for this fall. I have a fabulous tweede cape that I will be sporting this fall. I may also look for a pencil skirt and jacket–not to be worn together of course because I am not the Queen of England and I cannot pull off that look!

Metallic Accessories:

bag

Oh I love metallics but only on things like shoes and purses. On clothing, I find that it often overwhelms and can look cheap. So I’m looking at purses and clutches with a metallic gold color to keep outfits from getting too cold (I think silver looks cold and gold looks warm. Too much silver in fall and winter and I think ice queen).

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

